You are invited to celebrate 125 years of independent student journalism


DTHAnniversary_Invite (2)

Greetings Daily Tar Heel Alumni,

“But the eternal youth of the Tar Heel nevertheless is considered a blessing because it is youth that keeps it, like a typical adolescent, defiant in the face of authority, eager for growth and protective of its freedom.” Jen Pilla Taylor penned those iconic words 25 years ago for The Daily Tar Heel’s centennial edition, and they still ring true today.

The Daily Tar Heel’s Alumni Association is honored to invite you to the newspaper’s 125th birthday party and conference February 23-25, 2018, in Chapel Hill. We’ll kick off the weekend with a storytelling night, where alumni will swap memories, stories, and DTH lore. And on Saturday evening, DTH friends and family will gather at the Carolina Inn for a gala celebrating 125 years of journalistic excellence.

We’ve also invited innovative journalists to host discussions about pressing issues across the news and media industry for our conference on Saturday and Sunday. We’ll be hosting impressive speakers such as Frank Bruni of the New York Times, Dan Kois of Slate, media lawyer Alia Smith, Robyn Tomlin of The Dallas Morning News and Peter Roybal from LinkedIn. You can check out our Facebook page for more information about our exciting lineup of speakers.

The Daily Tar Heel needs our help. For the last 125 years, the newspaper has been the community’s investigator, advocate and fact-checker. Your support at this event will help ensure The Daily Tar Heel can continue to raise skeptical, smart and entrepreneurial journalists and media-makers for the next 125 years.

If you have any questions, feel free to reach out to the DTH Alumni Association at We can’t wait to see you in February, DTHers.


The Daily Tar Heel Alumni Association Steering Committee

Madeline Will ’14, Chair

Allie Russell ’13, President, DTH Media Corp. Board of Directors

Hugh Stevens ’65

Jeff Hiday ’85

Erica Beshears Perel ’98

Sharif Durhams ’99

Shannan Bowen ’06

Sarah Frier ’11

Jennifer Surane ’15

Tyler Fleming ’18

Posted in Uncategorized.

Leave a Reply